Well-being, hauora

The concept of well-being encompasses the physical, mental and emotional, social, and spiritual dimensions of health. This concept is recognised by the World Health Organisation.

Hauora is a Māori philosophy of health unique to New Zealand. It comprises taha tinana, taha hinengaro, taha whanau, and taha wairua.

Taha tinana – Physical well-being
the physical body, its growth, development, and ability to move, and ways of caring for it

Taha hinengaro – Mental and emotional well-being
coherent thinking processes, acknowledging and expressing thoughts and feelings and responding constructively

Taha whanau – Social well-being
family relationships, friendships, and other interpersonal relationships; feelings of belonging, compassion, and caring; and social support

Taha wairua – Spiritual well-being
the values and beliefs that determine the way people live, the search for meaning and purpose in life, and personal identity and self-awareness (For some individuals and communities, spiritual well- being is linked to a particular religion; for others, it is not.)  Each of these four dimensions of hauora influences and supports the others.